Impact Image


The History of LMU-DCOM

  • A.T. Still, MD, DO, founder of osteopathic medicine, born in Jonesville, Virginia, in 1828 (approximately 30 miles from the site of Lincoln Memorial University)
  • Lincoln Memorial University (LMU) chartered in 1897 as a living memorial to the 16th President of the United States, Abraham Lincoln, with the mission to serve the underserved of rural Appalachia by providing educational opportunities
  • Plan for a college of osteopathic medicine at LMU originated in 2004 by Autry O. V. "Pete" DeBusk, chairman of LMU Board of Trustees and founder and CEO of DeRoyal Industries, after he met Ray Stowers, DO, FACOFP. Both were members of the MedPAC Commission, a Medicare advisory board in Washington, D.C. DeBusk, an LMU alumnus, shared his dream of a college of medicine at LMU with Stowers, a rural family physician.
  • Year-long feasibility study conducted; at completion, LMU announced it was pursuing accreditation for Lincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM), Tennessee's newest medical school and its only osteopathic medical school
  • Ground broken for the LMU-DCOM building: May 2006
  • AOA COCA Provisional Accreditation granted to LMU-DCOM: September 2006
  • SACS COC Level V Accreditation granted to LMU: January 2007
  • Faculty and staff moved into LMU-DCOM building: July 2007
  • Opening Day for LMU-DCOM: August 1, 2007

  • First day of classes: August 3, 2007
  • Building Dedication Date: October 20, 2007

  • Physician Assistant Program launched May 2009
  • AOA COCA accreditation status granted May 1, 2011
  • DO Inaugural Class Graduation: May 14, 2011

  • PA Program Inaugural Class Graduation: July 30, 2011