Impact Image

DCOM at LMU-Knoxville


Lincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM) received approval from its accrediting agency to establish an additional location, named DCOM at LMU-Knoxville, at 9737 Cogdill Road. DCOM at LMU-Knoxville welcomed 125 new osteopathic medical students into its inaugural class in the fall of 2019.

LMU-DCOM was established in 2007 in Harrogate, Tennessee, with the mission of placing primary care doctors in Appalachia and the surrounding area. Since then it has graduated 1,327 doctors, many of whom work in East Tennessee and the surrounding states. This new location in West Knoxville allows LMU to continue its mission.

DCOM at LMU-Knoxville offers the same four-year, full-time academic and clinical program as offered at the LMU-DCOM Harrogate campus granting the Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) degree.

In 2017, LMU purchased the 11-acre property in West Knoxville and undertook a major renovation project to transform two existing buildings into state-of-the art facilities. The main academic building for the expanded Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine program is over 110,000 square feet and will support the academic and clinical skills training of osteopathic medical students with two auditoriums (a 320 seat and a 360 seat), twenty-six mock clinical exam rooms, two pod gross anatomy labs, eight high fidelity simulation labs and a classroom with 40 osteopathic manipulation tables.

LMU currently operates three instructional sites in Knoxville, with approval from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC), where undergraduate, graduate and professional degrees are offered, as well as a site in Alcoa/Blount County which borders Knoxville.

LMU-DCOM met the criteria as outlined by the American Osteopathic Association's Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation and was granted approval by the accrediting agency to establish an additional location in Knoxville, Tennessee.


Lincoln Memorial University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award associate, baccalaureate, masters, educational specialist, and doctorate degrees.  Lincoln Memorial University also may offer credentials such as certificates and diplomas at approved degree levels.  Questions about the accreditation of Lincoln Memorial University may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033-4097, by calling (404) 679-4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC’s website ( Off-campus sites owned and/or operated by Lincoln Memorial University are not individually accredited by the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools but are approved as accredited off-campus sites of the Harrogate, TN main campus. Off-campus sites' accreditation is dependent on the continued accreditation of the Lincoln Memorial University main campus in Harrogate, TN.