Lincoln Memorial University


Omicron Delta Kappa Recognizes Leadership at LMU

Harrogate, Tennessee, August 31, 2018—The Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) Circle at Lincoln Memorial University (LMU) inducted new members on August 25, 2018, at the Cumberland Gap Convention Center in Cumberland Gap, Tennessee. Emmette Thompson, executive director of Mission of Hope, gave the keynote address. 

Thompson spoke about his efforts to help the region through Mission of Hope, which is based in Knoxville, Tennessee, and provides assistance to people in the pockets of extreme poverty in Appalachia. Since its founding in 1996, Mission of Hope has ministered to the people of various counties in Kentucky and Tennessee. In the first event in 1996, Mission of Hope assisted 150 children. Last year, Mission of Hope was able to help over 17,000 children and their families with food, clothes, toys and hygiene items. 

“To be of service to your fellow man is an important responsibility and a privilege,” Thompson said. “I talk a lot about servant leadership and servant spirit because it’s important that we have that.” 

ODK, the National Leadership Honor Society, was founded December 3, 1914, at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia, by 15 student and faculty leaders. The founders formulated the idea that leadership of exceptional quality and versatility in college should be recognized, that representatives in all phases of college life should cooperate in worthwhile endeavors, and that outstanding students, faculty and administrators should meet on a basis of mutual interest, understanding and helpfulness. ODK was the first college honor society of a national scope to give recognition and honor for meritorious leadership and service in extracurricular activities and to encourage development of general campus citizenship. 

Inductees into the sixth class of LMU’s ODK Circle included undergraduate students Melissa C. Saganich, a junior biology major from Lake City, Tennessee; Laurel C. Tipps, a junior biology major from Murfreesboro, Tennessee; and Houston Wischmeier, a junior biology major from Westmoreland, Tennessee. Graduate and professional students inducted included John E. Ceback, a third-year osteopathic medical student from Lexington, Kentucky; Vanja Gvozderac, a second-year veterinary student from Alexandria, Virginia; Kaiser F. Kabir, a second-year osteopathic medical student from Annandale, Virginia; Max Keeling, a third-year osteopathic medical student from Bradenton, Florida; Katherine A. Sullivan, a second-year osteopathic medical student from Painesville, Ohio; and Charlotte R. Talbert, a third-year veterinary student from Wilmington, North Carolina. 

LMU faculty and staff members inducted included Rebecca S. Barnett, executive assistant to the vice president and dean at LMU-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM); Sue Cobb, standardized patient program coordinator at LMU-DCOM, Erick J. Moberg, natural science lab coordinator; Sheri L. Schatz, exam services coordinator for LMU-DCOM; and Elaine V. Stapleton, GME coordinator and credentialing specialist for LMU-DCOM. Thompson was inducted as an honoris causa member, the Circle’s highest honor.

Lincoln Memorial University is a values-based learning community dedicated to providing educational experiences in the liberal arts and professional studies.  The main campus is located in Harrogate, Tennessee. For more information about the undergraduate and graduate programs available at LMU, contact the Office of Admissions at 423.869.6280 or e-mail at [email protected].



423.869.3611 | 800.325.0900
6965 Cumberland Gap Parkway
Harrogate, TN 37752