Lincoln Memorial University


LMU Inducts New Members for Business Honor Society Delta Mu Delta

Harrogate, Tennessee, May 22, 2018— Lincoln Memorial University’s Mu Kappa Chapter of the international business honor society, Delta Mu Delta, inducted new members at a ceremony at the Abraham Lincoln Library and Museum’s Arnold Auditorium on April 14, 2018. 

Delta Mu Delta recognizes and encourages academic excellence of students at qualifying colleges and universities to create a community that fosters the well-being of its individual members and the business community through lifetime membership. 

The inductees included undergraduate students Evan Michael Corey, junior, Metairie, Louisiana; Christopher W. Dunn, junior, Knoxville, Tennessee; Amara Moss, junior, Woodbridge, Virginia; Marta Pinol, junior, Harrogate, Tennessee; David Segara Ruis, junior, Harrogate, Tennessee; Sarah Bethany Saylor, junior, Coldiron, Kentucky; Angelica Brooks Hurley, senior, Moorseburg, Tennessee; Timothy Wayne Knisley, senior, Jefferson City, Tennessee; Lisa Malherbe, senior, Mt. Juliet, Tennessee and Aaron Michael Young, senior, Tazewell, Tennessee. 

Master of Business Administration students inducted include Barry Baroudi, Punta Gorda, Florida; Bethan R. Farmer, Cumberland Gap, Tennessee; Sarah J.E. Fisher, Memphis, Tennessee; Lauren Kim Forester, Harrogate, Tennessee; Mitchell L. Hunter, New Tazewell, Tennessee; Sean Alton Kiesel, from Saint George, Utah; Corey Josef Mayer, Windsor, Ontario, Canada; Laura McDavid, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania; Vanessa L. Rayen, Lenoir City, Tennessee; Bryan Rogoff, Atlanta, Georgia and Mark Edward Wilkerson, Knoxville, Tennessee. 

Doctorate of Business Administration students inducted include Michelle Parks Goodson, Knoxville, Tennessee; Lloyd D. Lee, Jr. (Buddy), Knoxville, Tennessee; Jennifer R. Rittenhouse, Maryville, Tennessee; and Cassandra McGee Stuart, Knoxville, Tennessee. 

Dr. Sheree Schneider, assistant professor, is a faculty sponsor for Delta Mu Delta and presided over the ceremony. Dr. James Maxwell, dean of the School of Business was inducted as an honorary member. 

Delta Mu Delta was founded in 1913 by faculty from New York University, Harvard University and Yale University who believed that recognition should be given to outstanding students. The purpose of Delta Mu Delta is twofold: to promote higher scholarship in education, and to recognize and reward scholastic attainment in business subjects. 

Although it started as a local organization, other colleges and universities soon added chapters and in 1952, a national chapter was organized to bind the individual chapters into a cohesive unit to carry forward the aims of the Society. In 1963, Delta Mu Delta was admitted to the Association of College Honor Societies.  This association is an organization of 69 International Honor Societies established in 1925 to develop and maintain the standards of honor societies and to increase their usefulness. 

In 1992, Delta Mu Delta formed a partnership the Accreditation Council for Business Schools and Programs (ACBSP), the accrediting body for the LMU School of Business.  In 2012, LMU’s Mu Kappa became the 298th Chapter of Delta Mu Delta.  

Lincoln Memorial University is a values-based learning community dedicated to providing educational experiences in the liberal arts and professional studies.  The main campus is located in Harrogate, Tennessee. For more information about the undergraduate and graduate programs available at LMU, contact the Office of Admissions at 423.869.6280 or e-mail at [email protected].



423.869.3611 | 800.325.0900
6965 Cumberland Gap Parkway
Harrogate, TN 37752