Lincoln Memorial University


Gold Humanism Honor Society Inducts First Chapter at LMU

Gold Humanism Honor Society Inducts First Chapter at LMU

The Inductees of LMU's Inaugural Gold Humanism Honor Society joined by President Clayton Hess, President Emeritus B. James Dawson, LMU-DCOM Dean Dr. Brian Kessler and LMU-DCOM Senior Associate Dean Dr. Michael Wieting.

The Lincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM) Gold Humanism Honor Society (GHHS) inducted its inaugural class on May 12, 2017, at the Woodlake Golf and Country Club in Tazewell, Tennessee. Inductees included 21 students from the LMU-DCOM Class of 2018. Also inducted at the ceremony were Dr. Pamela Schultz, an alumnus from the Class of 2017, and Dr. Michael Wieting, senior associate dean of LMU-DCOM and professor of osteopathic manipulative medicine and physical medicine and rehabilitation.


The GHHS is a signature program of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, an international non-profit organization committed to fostering and maintaining a culture of compassion, caring and respect in health care. LMU-DCOM applied for and was granted permission to launch a chapter earlier this year. Rick Slaven, director of the LMU-DCOM Center for Simulation and Training serves as the GHHS chapter liaison.


“It is a huge honor to be selected as a GHHS member. The GHHS is one of only three honor societies listed on the Electronic Residency Application Service (ERAS), which gives them a competitive edge above other candidates applying for the same residency,” Slaven said. “It’s a very prestigious honor as well because membership is limited to less than 10 percent of students per class.”


Student inductees were nominated by their classmates as exemplars of compassionate patient-centered care. Each nominee had to submit a personal statement as well as present a project promoting humanism, inspiring and nurturing humanism in others.


Members of the Class of 2018 inducted into LMU-DCOM's inaugural GHHS class include:Rizwan Ahmed

  • Danielle Allen
  • Jeanna Ashman
  • Tanya Bucierka
  • Tonia Contelmo
  • Jared Cruz
  • Paige Ganem
  • Aron Haire
  • John M. Kerber
  • Madison Lamar
  • Nicolas Luzino
  • Eduardo Milla
  • Juan R. Querubin
  • Julian Christopher Remouns
  • Arash Salari
  • Cody Smith
  • Gretchen Sonnenberg
  • Ken Todd
  • Alex Vanlandingham
  • Rachel Wheeler
  • Dominic Woodson


GHHS was founded by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation in 2002. To date, there are over 140 chapters at medical schools across the nation, as well as internationally.  LMU-DCOM is one of only 14 osteopathic schools to be granted a chapter by the Arnold P. Gold Foundation. The GHHS recognizes the top 10 percent of students in their class who exemplify humanism in medicine as demonstrated by qualities of integrity, excellence, compassion, altruism, respect and empathy towards patients. Information about the Arnold P. Gold Foundation and the GHHS can be found at:


The DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine is located on the campus of Lincoln Memorial University in Harrogate, Tennessee. LMU-DCOM is an integral part of LMU’s values-based learning community, and is dedicated to preparing the next generation of osteopathic physicians to provide health care in the often underserved region of Appalachia and beyond. For more information about LMU-DCOM, call 1-800.325.0900, ext. 7082, e-mail, or visit us online at



423.869.3611 | 800.325.0900
6965 Cumberland Gap Parkway
Harrogate, TN 37752