LMU Social Work Honor Society Inducts New Members


socialworkstudentsoftheyear(Caption: Right, the 2020-2021 Outstanding Social Work Students of the Year, seniors Autumn Meadows and Casey Mayes.)

Lincoln Memorial University (LMU) inducted five new members into the Phi Alpha Social Work Honor Society on April 12 at Avery Hall.


Senior Clayton Smith and juniors Graciela Palencia, Brooklyn Bowen, MacKinzey Cutcher and Marissa Powell all took the oath to join LMU’s Eta Nu Chapter of Phi Alpha. The students achieved academic excellence with overall GPAs of 3.25 and social work GPAs of 3.57 to qualify for the honor.


Eta Nu was chartered on February 5, 1998 and was one of the first initiatives after the Social Work Program was accepted into candidacy with the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE).


“A total of 91 students and alumni have been inducted into the chapter and 39% of those have completed or are completing their master’s degrees in social work and are becoming the leaders in social work in the Tri-State area,” said Chair of the Department of Social Work Dr. Ann-Marie Buchanan.


Buchanan led the ceremony along with Kristy Lee, assistant professor of social work. Also participating were Claiborne County Mayor Joe Brooks, Assistant to the President Aaron Thomas, Vice President for Academic Affairs Robert Stubblefield, Professor of Social Work Kay Paris, and Dean of the Paul V. Hamilton School of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences Dr. Martin Sellers.  


The ceremony also recognized the 2020-2021 Outstanding Social Work Students of the Year, seniors Casey Mayes and Autumn Meadows.


“Both have consistently demonstrated their abilities to balance academic, family, friends and extra-curricular responsibilities,” Buchanan said. “Both have experienced their share of family and life issues; and have stayed the course and are ready to complete their social work degrees. Both students have served as officers in the SHARE Club, the social work student organization - Autumn as president and Casey as Student Government co-representative. They have participated in multiple SHARE Club activities on and off campus and have volunteered in their home communities. Autumn and Casey have been instrumental, along with their classmates, in the SHARE Club receiving Five Star status for the last two years.”


Meadows completed 450 field hours with Campbell County, Tennessee-Department of Children’s Services Foster Care Unit, where she also has accepted a position as a foster care worker and will start work in May. Meadows will be instrumental in finding permanency for children and families throughout East Tennessee. She plans to attend graduate school after getting more in-depth experience in the field.


Mayes completed 450 field hours with Cooperative Christian Ministry (CCM) in Middlesboro, Kentucky. He is also the first male to receive the Outstanding Social Work Student award. Upon graduation, Mayes will return to his home state of Michigan, where he has already begun interviewing for social work positions as well as applying to master of social work graduate programs.


“Autumn and Casey are both dedicated to serving others and making this world a better place,” Buchanan said. “They have compassionate and empathetic hearts and consistently go above and beyond the call of duty. Both students have demonstrated a deep understanding of and commitment to the values of the social work profession and should be congratulated on their achievements.”


Lee presented the recognitions for the SHARE Club members: Autumn Meadows – president; Clayton Smith - vice president; Regan Cupp Rosenbalm; Brittany Blankenship , Casey Mayes - co-SGA representative; Dylan Lee - co-SGA representative; Graciela Palencia, Brooklyn Bowen, MacKinzey Cutcher, Marissa Powell and Megan Tackett.


Lincoln Memorial University is a values-based learning community dedicated to providing educational experiences in the liberal arts and professional studies. The main campus is located in Harrogate, Tennessee. For more information about the undergraduate and graduate programs available at LMU, contact the Office of Admissions at 423.869.6280 or email at [email protected].


Back to previous page