English Honors Students Open Little Free Libraries

Litte Free Library openingHARROGATE, Tennessee, April 22, 2019— The Lincoln Memorial University (LMU) chapter of Sigma Tau Delta, the International English Honor Society, is sponsoring two new Little Free Libraries on the second floor of Avery Hall and in the foyer of the Carnegie-Vincent Library. The students hosted a ribbon-cutting ceremony on April 17, at the Avery Hall location.


Little Free Libraries are a global phenomenon. The small book exchanges number more than 80,000 around the world in 91 countries — from Iceland to Tasmania to Pakistan. Now, the two new Little Free Libraries at LMU will join the movement to share books, bring people together and create communities of readers. Anyone may take a book or bring a book to share. Little Free Library book exchanges have a unique, personal touch.


“We’re delighted to take part in the Little Free Library movement and encourage reading and book sharing on LMU’s campus,” said Rebecca Brackmann, Sigma Tau Delta Chapter advisor and associate professor of English.


Sigma Tau Delta members include: Kennedy Buechner (president), Cierra Davis, Alisha Helton, Kaylee Stone, Kenton (Matt) Parton, Kalie Rich, Kristyn Kelly, Jordan Shipley, Walter (Cole) Richards, Laurana Duncan and Kaitlyn Daugherty.


Lincoln Memorial University is a values-based learning community dedicated to providing educational experiences in the liberal arts and professional studies.  The main campus is located in Harrogate, Tennessee. For more information about the undergraduate and graduate programs available at LMU, contact the Office of Admissions at 423.869.6280 or email at [email protected].


Back to previous page