Dr. Tammy Dean Named Dean of LMU Caylor School of Nursing

Dr. Tammy Dean

Lincoln Memorial University (LMU) President Clayton Hess has named Dr. Tammy Dean as the dean of the LMU-Caylor School of Nursing (CSON). Dean took the helm of LMU’s largest school at the end of December after serving as associate dean since 2018 and chair of the Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN) program since 2015.

With over 30 years of service to LMU, Dean has been a member of the LMU-CSON faculty since 1988 and has served as mace bearer at LMU Commencements as the longest serving undergraduate faculty member. She has served on LMU’s Institutional Effectiveness Committee since 2014 and the Academic Council since 2007.

Dean is a registered nurse with practice experience in occupational health and oncology. She earned her BSN and Master of Science in Nursing degrees from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Dean earned a Doctor of Nursing Practice from Samford University in Birmingham, Alabama. She is a certified nurse educator with the National League of Nursing. Dean is a member of the Tennessee Organization of Nurse Executives (TONE), National League of Nursing, National Organization of Associate Degree Nursing, Phi Kappa Phi and Sigma Theta Tau.

In her new role, Dean will oversee the University’s largest undergraduate major as well as continue to grow the graduate and professional nursing programs. Enrollment in the CSON has increased exponentially over the last decade with the addition of new programs and concentrations. The CSON offers a variety of degree options to meet nurses’ career goals including a Licensed Practical Nurse-Associate of Science in Nursing (ASN), the Associate of Science in Nursing (ASN), the Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN), the Registered Nurse-Bachelor of Science in Nursing (RN-BSN), the Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) with concentrations including Family Nurse Practitioner, Nursing Administration, Nurse Anesthesia and Family Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner, and the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP).

LMU offers its accredited nursing programs at the main campus in Harrogate and at off-campus locations in Alcoa, Kingsport and Knoxville, Tennessee, as well as Corbin, Kentucky, and Tampa, Florida.

Lincoln Memorial University is a values-based learning community dedicated to providing educational experiences in the liberal arts and professional studies. The main campus is located in Harrogate, Tennessee. For more information about the undergraduate and graduate programs available at LMU, contact the Office of Admissions at 423-869-6280 or email at [email protected].

Back to previous page