LMU Honors Student Leaders at Banquet


fivestartparttwoSee more photos here: https://flic.kr/s/aHsmVkXH4z


The Lincoln Memorial University (LMU) Student Government Association (SGA) Executive Board hosted its annual Student Leadership Banquet on April 19, at the Convention Center in Cumberland Gap, Tennessee.


Prior to the awards presentations, guest speaker, Dr. Megan Owens, dean of students, gave an inspirational message to the students encouraging them to embrace uncomfortable moments and feelings to get to the next level.


drowenskeynote“In the next few weeks, do something that puts you off the path of least resistance, something uncomfortable that takes your brain off autopilot,” said Owens. “That is where you will continue to grow as a student, a leader, a friend. Choose growth over comfort.”


Student leaders of over 30 campus clubs and organizations were honored for their accomplishments and achievements throughout the academic year.


“My primary objective is to help students become engaged on campus and find things they are passionate about to be involved in,” said Kaci Ausmus, director of student activities and engagement. “The students that attend the Student Leadership Banquet each year are the most highly involved students on our campus, and it is an honor to be able to recognize these students each year.”


railsplitteronerailsplittertwoClubs qualify to become three, four, or five star organizations by completing specific requirements such as participating in the Founders’ Day Games and the homecoming parade and by hosting original events. Being name a Five Star Club is the highest club honor.


Five Star Clubs included Young Life, Pre-Med Club, Student Diversity Leadership Council, Alpha Lambda Zeta, Chemistry Club, Delta Theta Sigma, Gamma Lambda Sigma, Honors Scholars Association, Kappa Pi Omega, Lincoln Activities Board, Lincoln Ambassadors, SHARE Club, Splitter Service Leaders and Zeta Tau Kappa. Four Star Clubs were Student Tennessee Education Association, Wildlife Society and Faith in Action Today. Three Star Clubs were Art Club, Fishing Club and Vet Tech Club.


sgaexecutivecouncilOther awards included:


The Organization of the Year - Lincoln Activities Board

New Organization of the Year - Splitter Service Leaders

Advisor of the Year - Hannah Wilson

Event of the Year - LMU Fright Night (Lincoln Activities Board)

Community Service Award - Student Tennessee Education Association

Graduate Assistant of the Year - Jason Newell

Railsplitters of Recognition - Emily Roark and Austen Smith


Greek Pillar Awards:

Service – Kappa Pi Omega

Leadership – Zeta Tau Kappa

Scholarship – Zeta Tau Kappa

Community – Alpha Lambda Zeta


Outstanding Seniors:

Taegan Allen, Madi Bailey, Calista Barker, Autumn Belcher, Gibson Calfee, Logan Clark, Kendell Daniels, Samson Devine, Mariana Diaz Lopez, Samantha Lyon, Autumn Meadows, Brandon Miller, Amber Philpot; Jared Ray, Tara Rose, Joseph Serrenho, Clayton Smith, Samantha Stanfill, Matilda Tate and Payton Walker


Club Members of the Year:

Alpha Lambda Zeta – Trey Chumley, Joshua Bolden

Chemistry Club – Joseph Serrenho, Tabitha Roy

Delta Theta Sigma – Megan Holloway and Emily York

Faith in Action Today – Morgan Heitkamp, Julia Ayers

Gamma Lambda Sigma – Tyler Burnett, Thomas Nelson

Gay Straight Alliance – Samantha Hogan, Jessica Meadows

Honors Scholars Association – Leslie Asher, Austen Smith

Kappa Pi Omega – Tara Rose, Jennifer Kelley

Lincoln Activities Board – Danny Johnson (Honorary), Maddison Cooper

Lincoln Ambassadors – Juan Torres, Ben Jenkins (Honorary)

Marketing Club – Makayla Fox, Emily Prince

Omega Sigma Psi – Stanaelle Althouriste

Pre-Med Club – Hunter Eden, Lynnsey Saylor

Pre-Vet Club – Sadie Pittman, Mikayla Queen

Railsplitter Representatives – Kobe Viles, Alexis Moore

SHARE Club – Autumn Meadows, Clayton Smith

Splitter Service Leaders – Abigail Tillman, Kobe Viles

Student Tennessee Education Association – Nikki Belcher, Payton Walker

Student Diversity Leadership Council – Haley White, Destiny Gibbs

Wildlife Society – Elizabeth Burke, Madison Criswell

Zeta Tau Kappa – Kelcee Griffith, Kaitlyn Griffith


Lincoln Memorial University is a values-based learning community dedicated to providing educational experiences in the liberal arts and professional studies.  The main campus is located in Harrogate, Tennessee. For more information about the undergraduate and graduate programs available at LMU, contact the Office of Admissions at 423.869.6280 or email at [email protected].

Back to previous page