JFWA Hosts Commencement for Class of 2019


 J. Frank White Academy (JFWA) held Commencement exercises for the Class of 2019 on May 18 at the Sam and Sue Mars Performing Arts Center in Duke Hall of Citizenship on the main campus of Lincoln Memorial University (LMU).


“Without a doubt the Class of 2019 has left a lasting impression on the J. Frank White Academy,” said Principal Bobby Lockhart. “I want to convey how proud we are of this remarkable group of young men and women. Their academic achievements leave a legacy that will be a tough act to follow for future senior classes at the Academy.”


The Class of 2019 continued the JFWA’s tradition of 100% college placement, as all 17 graduates plan to attend college in fall 2019. The class collectively earned over $1 million in four-year scholarships and boasted a 26.3 ACT class average, which ranks among the highest ever recorded by a single class in the history of the state. Every member of the Class of 2019 qualified for the Tennessee HOPE Scholarship.


Valedictorian Ali Graham (Harrogate, Tennessee) will attend Belmont University in Nashville, Tennessee. Salutatorian Bailey Patton (Harrogate, Tennessee) has earned a highly competitive full scholarship to LMU. Jayden Fisher (New Tazewell, Tennessee), Lara Gunter (Jacksboro, Tennessee), Nicholas Lockhart (New Tazewell, Tennessee), Sophia Nichols (Tazewell, Tennessee), Enik Rogers (LaFollette, Tennessee) and Ray Spade, III (Ewing, Virginia) will also be attending LMU. Madison Acuff (Harrogate, Tennessee), Rose Mountain (New Tazewell, Tennessee), Warren Renfro (Harrogate, Tennessee) and Nicholas Treece (Tazewell, Tennessee) will attend the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Elizabeth Beason (New Tazewell, Tennessee) is going to Walters State Community College. William DeBusk (Tazewell, Tennessee) has enrolled at Belmont University. Tipton Hembree (Middlesboro, Kentucky) is going to East Tennessee State University in Johnson City, Tennessee. Jacob Melton (Middlesboro, Kentucky) is headed to Transylvania University in Lexington, Kentucky, while Maximillian Slowinski (Harrogate, Tennessee) has chosen Syracuse University in Syracuse, New York.


Thirteen seniors were active National Honor Society (NHS) members including Acuff, Beason, DeBusk, Fisher, Graham, Gunter, Lockhart, Mountain, Nichols, Patton, Rogers, Slowinski and Spade. Induction into NHS is among the top academic honors and requires a 95 cumulative average that must remain 92 or above.


JFWA honored the Class of 2019 during a separate Senior Awards Night on May 7, at the Arnold Auditorium in the Abraham Lincoln Library and Museum. Patton received the Shining Knight Award for her academic performance, participation in extracurricular activities, community service and completion of 18 hours of LMU dual enrollment classes. Fisher received the Principal’s Award for Excellence for her performance in the classroom and on the courtswhich had her ranked among the top five graduates while achieving a 10-0 record as a member of the Lady Knights tennis team. Beason received the Principal’s Award for Citizenship for her work in organizing the Academy’s Mountain Fiesta in Cumberland Gap in April. Nichols earned the Beta Club Service Award for her leadership in the honors organization’s service activities. Subject area award winners included Mountain (Spanish), Lockhart (Social Studies), Graham (Science and Mathematics), Rogers (Journalism), DeBusk (English) and Gunter (Art).


Five seniors were Knoxville News Sentinel Academic Achievers for their top academic class rank: Graham, Patton, Fisher, Lockhart and Mountain.

Lincoln Memorial University is a values-based learning community dedicated to providing educational experiences in the liberal arts and professional studies.  The main campus is located in Harrogate, Tennessee. For more information about the undergraduate and graduate programs available at LMU, contact the Office of Admissions at 423.869.6280 or email at [email protected].

Back to previous page