Bukky Ajagbe-Akingbola Selected as LMU-DCOM Student Doctor of the Year

Bukky Ajagbe-Akingbola Selected as LMU-DCOM Student Doctor of the Year for 2020

Lincoln Memorial University-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM) student Bukky Ajagbe-Akingbola, Class of 2021, has been selected as the LMU-DCOM Student Doctor of the Year (SDOY). Ajagbe-Akingbola will represent LMU-DCOM as a candidate for the National SDOY award presented annually by the Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents (COSGP) at the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM) annual meeting in April 2021.


The SDOY award is presented to students who go above and beyond the average osteopathic medical student and are recognized for their leadership, commitment to community service, dedication to the profession, professionalism and the embodiment of the osteopathic philosophy. Nominations are sent in by the student body and reviewed by the school selection committee that includes members of the Student Government Association and faculty as well as the dean.


Ajagbe-Akingbola is from Woodbury, Minnesota, and received her Bachelor of Science in Neuroscience from the University of St. Thomas in Saint Paul, Minnesota. She received her Master of Science in Biomedical Science from Lincoln Memorial University.


“Bukky is the physical manifestation of the word perseverance which is the steadfastness in doing something despite difficulty or delay in achieving success. She possesses a magnificent strength that allows her to accomplish great things,” said Matthew Harden, a member of the LMU-DCOM Class of 2021. “From developing a diversity chair in student government meant to shed light on the minority student experience to regularly addressing issues that affect the entire student body, and even promulgating the health impacts of racism to a national organization, she works with a stalwart focus to make the world better and to promote equality, equity, and justice in all spaces. And she manages to do all of this in the face of setbacks, disappointments, and failures that would riddle many of us with self-doubt.”


Ajagbe-Akingbola has been an integral part of creating and sustaining diversity initiatives at LMU-DCOM. She helped develop the first diversity chair position for the LMU-DCOM Student Government Association and served as its first chair. Her classmates laud her for being a champion for underrepresented students on campus.


“She is a champion for the voiceless, and I look forward to watching her move mountains with sheer willpower and tenacity to make medicine and medical education better for everyone who walks the path in her wake. She deserves this accolade more than anyone I know, and this is just the beginning of her illustrious future,” said Harden.


Ajagbe-Akingbola has notable national involvements aimed at creating and solidifying diversity initiatives at medical schools throughout the country. She currently serves on the American Medical Association Minority Affairs Section Governing Council, as the representative for the AMA Medical Student Section. In this role she has helped student voices be heard through the development of health policy and medical education geared at addressing the needs of minority medical students.


“There are few medical students I have met who are like Bukky Akingbola,” said Benton Hurt, LMU-DCOM Class of 2022. “Not only is she resilient with a laser-like focus on her studies, but she is also even more so a passionate supporter for extensive and fundamental changes in medicine. Bukky is a compassionate soul with a heart for advocacy and diversity in healthcare, and I know she will continue to make great strides toward a more level playing field for all. I know that as a physician, Bukky will be an equally fervent advocate for her patients and the communities she will work in.”


Ajagbe-Akingbola has empowered others by living out the osteopathic philosophy that the person is a unit of body, mind and spirit. She is involved in all aspects of the profession from working at free medical clinics, hosting health fairs, providing educational workshops, mentoring and tutoring current medical students, and serving on numerous committees in several leadership positions. She has participated in research funded by the National Institute of Health and is currently involved with ongoing quality improvement projects in a complex medical care clinic.


“Her tenacity and determination make her a fierce ally and partner in women’s health that is a driving force to incite sustainable, positive change for generations to come. I am proud to know her,” said Rebecca Ackley, LMU-DCOM Class of 2021.


Ajagbe-Akingbola will go on to compete for the National Student Doctor of the Year Award. The winner of the national award will receive recognition as well as a monetary award.


Lincoln Memorial University (LMU) is a values-based learning community dedicated to providing educational experiences in the liberal arts and professional studies. The DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine is located on the campus of Lincoln Memorial University in Harrogate, Tennessee, with an additional location at LMU-Knoxville. LMU-DCOM is an integral part of LMU’s values-based learning community and is dedicated to preparing the next generation of osteopathic physicians to provide health care in the often-underserved region of Appalachia and beyond. For more information about LMU-DCOM, call 1.800.325.0900, ext. 7082, email [email protected], or visit us online at http://med.LMUnet.edu.

Back to previous page