LMU Circle of ODK Adds 10 New Members

Class of 2023 ODK Inductees

The Lincoln Memorial University (LMU) Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa inducted 10 new members in a ceremony held at the Richard A. Gillespie College of Veterinary Medicine on Saturday, September 30, 2023.

ODK New membersNew student members include Christian Piercy, a sophomore biology pre-health major; Sinead “Cas” Cummins, a first-year veterinary medicine student; Hannah Diehr, a Master of Science in biomedical science degree candidate; Elizabeth Gray, an second year osteopathic medical students; Savannah Lynch, a second year veterinary medicine student; and Raquel Sanford-Jones, a second-year osteopathic medical students. ODK also inducted LMU employees including Dawson Delph, assistant dean of students; Dr. Molly Duggan, director of QEP; Grace Mahieu, Arts in the Gap events coordinator; and Dr. Chessica Cave, associate professor of education.

Dr. Michael WietingDr. Stan Kunigelis, LMU ODK circle coordinator, LMU-DCOM professor of physiology and director of imaging and analysis, served as the master of ceremonies. LMU-DCOM Senior Associate Dean Michael Wieting, DO, delivered a keynote speech entitled “The Value of Servant Leadership” before the new members were initiated.

ODK Student President Emma Bradley, a second-year osteopathic medicine student, led the induction of the new members with the assistance of ODK executive committee members Dr. Sandra Weems, associate professor of English and Honors Scholars program director, Sheri Schatz, assistant dean of students, and Dr. LaRoy Brandt, professor of conservation biology and director of the Cumberland Mountain Research Center. The induction included the reciting of the inductee pledge, inductee introductions and signature in the Circle’s rolls.

ODK recognizes and encourages superior leadership and exemplary character. Membership in ODK is regarded as one of the highest collegiate honors that can be awarded, in the tradition of Phi Kappa Phi and Phi Beta Kappa and celebrates excellence in academics and integrity of character. ODK is a member of the Honor Society Caucus, a consortium of the most prestigious honor societies in the country. Each of the four members of the caucus specializes in a value, ODK specializes in leadership.

The LMU Circle of ODK began in 2013 through the efforts of LMU-DCOM Director of Alumni Services and Continuing Medical Education Amy Drittler and Kunigelis, with the full support of President Emeritus B. James Dawson. ODK recognizes achievement in five areas; scholarship; athletics; campus and community services, social or religious activities and campus government; journalism, speech and mass media; and creative and performing arts.

ODK, the National Leadership Honor Society, was founded December 3, 1914, at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia, by 15 students and faculty leaders. The founders formulated the idea that leadership of exceptional quality and versatility in college should be recognized, that representatives in all phases of college life should cooperate in worthwhile endeavors, and that outstanding students, faculty and administrators should meet on a basis of mutual interest, understanding, and helpfulness. ODK was the first College honor society of a national scope to give recognition and honor the meritorious leadership and service in extracurricular activities and to encourage development of general campus citizenship. Since its founding, Omicron Delta Kappa has initiated over 300,000 members.

Lincoln Memorial University is a values-based learning community dedicated to providing educational experiences in the liberal arts and professional studies. The main campus is located in Harrogate, Tennessee. For more information about the undergraduate and graduate programs available at LMU, contact the Office of Admissions at 423-869-6280 or email at [email protected].

Return to Newsroom