Lincoln Memorial University

Omicron Delta Kappa Recognizes Leaders at LMU

ODK 2019 Inductees at LMU

Harrogate, Tennessee, September 11, 2019 —The Omicron Delta Kappa (ODK) Circle at Lincoln Memorial University (LMU) inducted new members on August 31, 2019, at the Cumberland Gap Convention Center in Cumberland Gap, Tennessee. Kaylen Mallard, chief development officer of Remote Area Medical (RAM), gave the keynote address.


August 29, 2019, marked one year since the passing of Stan Brock, founder of RAM. Brock pioneered the use of mobile medical clinics to deliver health care services to people in remote, isolated, and underserved communities around the globe. During Brock’s 33-year tenure with RAM, more than 740,000 people received free dental, vision, and medical services, all provided by more than 120,000 dedicated volunteers. Mallard spoke about his legacy and efforts to help the surrounding regions through RAM’s free medical clinics.


“The first aspect of leadership I learned from Stan is ‘presence,’” said Mallard. “What a difference we can make by being present.”


Based in Rockford, Tennessee, RAM provides assistance to people in regions where medical assistance is inaccessible. Since its founding in 1985, their mission has been to prevent pain and alleviate suffering by providing free quality health care to those in need. LMU has partnered with RAM since 2006 to host health expeditions at the main campus in Harrogate.


“Stan would have truly been honored to be here today,” Mallard said. “He loved Lincoln Memorial University, he loved East Tennessee, and he would have been thrilled to get to talk to students who are embarking on a career about how important leadership is and how important it is to be involved in your communities.”


ODK, the National Leadership Honor Society, was founded December 3, 1914, at Washington and Lee University in Lexington, Virginia, by 15 student and faculty leaders. The founders formulated the idea that leadership of exceptional quality and versatility in college should be recognized, that representatives in all phases of college life should cooperate in worthwhile endeavors, and that outstanding students, faculty and administrators should meet on a basis of mutual interest, understanding and helpfulness. ODK was the first college honor society of a national scope to give recognition and honor for meritorious leadership and service in extracurricular activities and to encourage development of general campus citizenship.


Inductees into the seventh class of LMU’s ODK Circle included undergraduate students Kaylea N. Braddock, a junior nursing major from Morristown, Tennessee; Abigail F. Burgess, a senior conservation biology major from Jamesville, New York; Abigail M. Bruns, a senior chemistry major from Lewisburg, Ohio; Anna M. Cooksey, a senior veterinary health science major from Thompson Station, Tennessee; Hana N. Hess, a senior conservation biology major from Saltville, Virginia; Matilda M. Tate, a junior veterinary health science major from Bristol, Tennessee; and Kiersten M. Waugh, a junior biology major from Ontario, Canada.


Graduate and professional students inducted included Nathaniel A. Aquino, a fourth-year osteopathic medical student from Kingsport, Tennessee; Stephanie B. Clay, a second-year physician assistant student from Panama City, Florida; Daniel P. Doran, a second-year veterinary student from Troy, New York; Courtney M. Hanson-McClenathan, a second-year veterinary student from Aliso Viejo, California; Linda H. Pham, a third-year osteopathic medical student from San Diego, California; Jesus R. Salas, a third-year osteopathic medical student from Toledo, Ohio; and Taylor C. Wilson, a third-year veterinary student from Jonesville, Virginia.


LMU faculty and staff members inducted included Maria S. Harris, student services coordinator at LMU-DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine (LMU-DCOM); Mary K. Mason, preceptor relations coordinator for the LMU-School of Medical Sciences and MBA student, LaRoy Brandt, associate professor of biology and director of Cumberland Mountain Research Center; and Adam Gromley, associate professor of molecular/cell biology and director of research for LMU-DCOM. Brock was inducted posthumously as a distinguished honoris causa member, the Circle’s highest honor.


Distinguished ODK alumni include George W. Bush, Jimmy Carter, Peyton Manning, Winston S. Churchill, III, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Bob Hope, S. Truett Cathy, Patricia S. Summitt, and many more.


Lincoln Memorial University is a values-based learning community dedicated to providing educational experiences in the liberal arts and professional studies.  The main campus is located in Harrogate, Tennessee. For more information about the undergraduate and graduate programs available at LMU, contact the Office of Admissions at 423.869.6280 or email at [email protected]


423.869.3611 | 800.325.0900
6965 Cumberland Gap Parkway
Harrogate, TN 37752