Impact Image

Nursing Administration

The Lincoln Memorial University (LMU) Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) degree program, Nursing Administration concentration, focuses on the American Nurses Association Scope and Standards of Nursing Administration Practice and the American Organization of Nurse Executive competencies through a virtual environment. The concentration prepares nurses with core courses inclusive of finance, budgeting, marketing, and analytics for healthcare strategy. The nurse acquires critical leadership, communication, health policy, and cultural competency that prepares them for complex healthcare nursing business administrative positions locally, nationally, and globally.

The 17-month post-baccalaureate Nursing Administration concentration requires 36 semester hours of graduate course work including a minimum of 360 clinical hours. The 26 month post-associate Nursing Administration concentration requires 65 semester hours. A comprehensive exam is required during the final semester. Students also complete a directed scholarly project. Students may only transfer a maximum of six (6) credit hours toward degree requirement. Upon successful completion of the MSN Nursing Administration Concentration, students are eligible for certification examinations from the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), or the American Organization of Nurse Executives (AONE) provided they have met the practice requirement for the examinations.

MSN Program Tools

Nursing Administration Application (PDF)
Graduate Catalog
MSN Handbook (PDF)


Why Nursing Administration at LMU?

The Caylor School of Nursing offers the MSN Nursing Administration degree program in an all online format. The Nursing Administration concentration will challenge and provide you with the leadership skills to initiate and advance change at the core of an organization to achieve the desired business and patient quality outcomes. Upon completion of this program the nurse will possess the confidence for nursing business administration leadership in the dynamic evolution of healthcare.

Program Admission

Students may be admitted to the MSN Nursing Administration concentration as a Baccalaureate of Science in Nursing (BSN) graduate, or as an Associate of Science in Nursing (ASN)/Associate Degree in Nursing (ADN) graduate. The BSN to MSN program is a 4 Semester, 36 credit hour curriculum plan. The ASN/ADN to MSN Nursing Administration program is a 6 Semester, 65 credit hour curriculum plan.

See the MSN Handbook for details regarding additional requirements for admitted students such as health status forms, proof on insurance, current immunization, CPR certification, drug screens, and background checks.

  • Graduation from an accredited associate's degree program for the ASN/ADN to MSN Nursing Administration program.
  • Graduation from an accredited baccalaureate nursing program.
  • An overall academic record with a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of "B" (3.0) or better.
  • All applicants must have a basic understanding of statistics and basic computer skills.
  • Completion of the Graduate Record Examination (GRE) is not required, but is recommended.
  • Minimum of three recommendations from healthcare professionals who can rate the applicant's potential. At least two must be from nursing professionals with an MSN or higher; one may be a professional in a related healthcare field.
  • A three-page letter to the Admissions Committee describing professional goals.
  • An unencumbered license to practice as a registered nurse in the state in which the student resides is required for enrollment; clinical practicum may necessitate licensure in neighboring states.
  • Medical profile (including immunizations record), urine drug screen, and a criminal background check must be completed no more than 60 days prior to enrollment to the MSN program.
  • Proof of health insurance at all times when enrolled in the program.

Program Accreditation

At LMU, the Nursing Administration concentration has been designed to meet standards for advanced practice education as mandated by the National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculties (NONPF).

The Associate of Science in Nursing (ASN), Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN), Master of Science in Nursing (MSN), and Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) degree programs are approved by the Tennessee Board of Nursing. The ASN program offered in Kentucky is approved by the Kentucky Board of Nursing.

The Associate of Science in Nursing (ASN), Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN), Master of Science in Nursing (MSN), and Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) nursing programs at Lincoln Memorial University at the LMU Harrogate, LMU Cedar Bluff, LMU Alcoa, LMU Tower, LMU Kingsport, and LMU Corbin campuses located in Harrogate, Knoxville, Alcoa, and Kingsport, Tennessee and Corbin, Kentucky are accredited by the: Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN)
3390 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 1400 Atlanta, GA 30326
(404) 975-5000

The most recent accreditation decision made by the ACEN Board of Commissioners for the Associate of Science in Nursing (ASN), Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN), Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) is continuing accreditation.

The most recent accreditation decision made by the ACEN Board of Commissioners for the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) nursing program is initial accreditation.

ACEN is officially recognized as a national accrediting agency for nursing education by the Council on Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA) and by the U.S. Department of Education. ACEN, may be contacted at 3390 Peachtree Rd NE, Suite 1400, Atlanta, GA 30326 or call 404-975-5000 or visit


For more information regarding the Nursing Administration concentration, please call 1-800-325-0900, ext. 6283

or (423) 869-6283