Impact Image

Nurse Anesthesia

*The Nurse Anesthesia program is transitioning to a Doctor of Nursing Practice starting January 2022. Further information regarding this transition may be obtained by contacting the program at 423-869-6210 or [email protected]

The LMU MSN Nurse Anesthesia (NA) concentration prepares nurses in an advanced practice role with competencies in Nurse Anesthesia across the life span. The 28-month program requires 81 semester hours of graduate course work, including five semesters in clinical practicum, a comprehensive exam, and a completed directed scholarly project. No credit may be transferred in to the Nurse Anesthesia concentration.

The Nurse Anesthesia concentration does not offer a part-time option.

MSN Program Tools

Admission to the NA Concentration

Admission Requirements for the MSN Nurse Anesthesia Concentration were developed to meet the Standards for Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs. Requirements include:

  • Graduation from an accredited baccalaureate nursing program.
  • An overall academic record with a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of "B" (3.0) or better.
  • All applicants must have basic understanding of statistics and basic computer skills.
  • Competitive GRE scores on Verbal Reasoning, Quantitative Reasoning, and Analytical Writing are required.
  • Minimum of three recommendations including one from faculty of the candidate's baccalaureate nursing program or immediate supervisor in a critical care setting and one from another professional in a related healthcare field (examples may include: Clinical Nurse Specialist, RN, CRNA, Anesthesiologist, Surgeon, or Intensivist).
  • Two undergraduate chemistry courses, at least one of which has a laboratory component.
  • A statement of professional goals.
  • An unencumbered compact license to practice as a registered nurse in the state of Tennessee is required for enrollment; clinical practicum will require licensure in additional states including Kentucky, Georgia, and Virginia and any other states where students might obtain clinical experience.
  • A minimum of one year experience as a Registered Nurse in critical care; adult critical care experience preferred. .
  • The Nurse Anesthesia concentration is a full-time program. Students may only request full-time status.
  • Basic Life Support, Advanced Cardiac Life Support, and Pediatric Life Support must be current through December of the year in which the application is submitted.
  • Medical profile (including immunizations record), urine drug screen and a criminal background check must be completed no more than 60 days prior to enrollment in the MSN program.
  • Proof of health insurance at all times when enrolled in the program.

Program Accreditation

The Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs (COA) requires that all students matriculating into a nurse anesthesia educational program on January 1, 2022 or thereafter be enrolled in a program approved by the COA to award a practice doctoral degree. The program has been approved to enroll its first doctoral cohort of students in January, 2022. Further information regarding this transition may be obtained by contacting the program at 423-869-6210.

The Associate of Science in Nursing (ASN), Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN), Master of Science in Nursing (MSN), and Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) degree programs are approved by the Tennessee Board of Nursing. The ASN program offered in Kentucky is approved by the Kentucky Board of Nursing.

The Associate of Science in Nursing (ASN), Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN), Master of Science in Nursing (MSN), and Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) nursing programs at Lincoln Memorial University at the LMU Harrogate, LMU Cedar Bluff, LMU Alcoa, LMU Tower, LMU Kingsport, and LMU Corbin campuses located in Harrogate, Knoxville, Alcoa, and Kingsport, Tennessee and Corbin, Kentucky are accredited by the: Accreditation Commission for Education in Nursing (ACEN)
3390 Peachtree Road NE, Suite 1400 Atlanta, GA 30326
(404) 975-5000

The most recent accreditation decision made by the ACEN Board of Commissioners for the Associate of Science in Nursing (ASN), Bachelor of Science in Nursing (BSN), Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) is continuing accreditation.

The most recent accreditation decision made by the ACEN Board of Commissioners for the Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP) nursing program is initial accreditation.

The Nurse Anesthesia concentration has been accredited by the Council on Accreditation for Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs (COA). The address for COA is:

Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs (COA)
222 S. Prospect Avenue
Park Ridge, IL 60068-4001.
COA Accreditation Department: 847-655-1160
Fax: 847-692-7137
email: [email protected]

Date of next review is 2024.

Applicants Rights and Responsibilities

Applicants have a right to:

  1. Expect to be treated in a respectful manner.
  2. Expect to have their application request available to them in a timely manner.
  3. Expect to have their application reviewed with the same degree of consideration as any other applicant.
  4. Expect to be notified of any information missing from their files, which would be necessary for a file to be complete.

Applicants have a responsibility to:

  1. Inform the concentration administration of any address changes.
  2. Complete their applications and submit them by the application deadline.
  3. Be truthful in answering questions on the application.
  4. Provide the concentration administration the necessary information to make decisions about their qualifications for admission into the concentration.

Clinical Placements

The Master of Science in Nursing, Nurse Anesthesia concentration current clinical sites are listed below. Clinical sites used by Nurse Anesthesia may vary from semester to semester during the tenure of the student's curriculum plan at LMU. Clinical rotations will include elective and/or mandatory assignments requiring travel to hospitals/affiliates in TN, KY, VA and GA. Students are responsible for travel. Students are also responsible for any housing needs if necessary.

The following links are to external sites maintained by the clinical sites, not by LMU.

Bristol Regional Medical Center-TN Harlan ARH Hospital-KY
Clinch Valley Medical Center - VA Hazard ARH Reg. Medical Center-KY Park West Medical Center-TN
Ballard Lonesome Pine Hospital-VA Kings Daughter Medical Center-KY Park West Plastic Surgery Center-TN
Barbourville ARH - KY LaFollette Medical Center-TN Pikeville Medical Center-KY
Ephraim McDowell Hospital-KY Lake Cumberland Regional Hospital-KY St. Joseph London-KY
Floyd Medical Center-GA Lake Cumberland Surgery Center-KY St. Thomas Medical Center-TN
Fort Sanders Medical Center-TN Manchester Memorial Hospital-KY St. Thomas Skyline-TN
Gateway Medical Center-TN Memorial Health Care System-TN UK Healthcare Good Samaritan Hosp.-KY
Hamilton Medical Center-GA Middlesboro ARH Hospital-KY University of TN Medical Center-TN


Graduates of the NA concentration will have met the eligibility criteria for the National Board for Certification and Recertification of Nurse Anesthetists (NBCRNA) national certification examination.