impact image

Meet the Director

Lisa Pullen PhD, APRN - BC 
Program Director/Professor
Caylor School of Nursing
Lincoln Memorial University
(865) 531-4134



PhD - Mississippi State University (MSU), 1991, Educational Psychology: Major: Counseling Psychology; Minor: Counselor Education

Post Masters Certificate (PMC) – University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN. (UTK), 1997,

Psychiatric Mental Health Clinical Nurse Specialist (PMHCNS)

MSN – FNP - Mississippi University for Women (MUW), 1985

BSN – Jacksonville State University (JSU), 1983

ASN – Gadsden State Junior College, 1981


Dr. Lisa Pullen has taught at Lincoln Memorial University (LMU) in the Caylor School of Nursing (CSON) since 2001. Her specialty area in nursing is mental health of which she has received board certification. Currently, she is the Director of the Family Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner (FPMHNP) Concentration. Dr. Pullen feels very fortunate that she has been the Director of this concentration since it was started in 2010. Having been at LMU for many years, she has earned the rank of full professor. She enjoys working in a local practice treating patients with mental illness including a variety of drug addictions.

Scholarship and Research Interests

Her area of research has focused predominantly on addiction, especially alcohol dependency. These research projects have resulted in several publications and presentations.

Committees and Organizations

In addition to Dr. Pullen’s teaching and administrative responsibilities, she has served throughout the years on several CSON committees as well as University committees. Throughout her tenure, Dr. Pullen has served on the board for the local American Psychiatric Nurse Association (APNA) chapter and the Tennessee Nurse Association (TNA). Presently, she serves on the University Committee for Scholarly Activities (COSA).


She is pleased to have been awarded the Houston Award from LMU in 2017.

Dr. Pullen is also honored to have received several awards from the APNA including the Excellence in Education Award in 2005, the Excellence in Leadership Award in 2010, and the Educator of the Year Award in 2012.