LMU-Caylor School of Nursing Awarded Grant for Nearly $1 Million to Provide Mental Health Services


The U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) has awarded the Lincoln Memorial University-Caylor School of Nursing (LMU-CSON) a grant totaling $945,908 over three years to fund “Behavioral Health A.C.E. Project: Expanding Access, Collaboration & Education (A.C.E.) to Rural & Underserved Areas.”

The grant project is aimed at addressing three HHS and HRSA priorities, including improving mental health access and care, transforming the workforce-targeting the need for more providers, and ending the crisis of opioid addiction and overdose in America. LMU will partner with two primary care community-based organizations serving rural and underserved populations across the lifespan to provide board certified Family Psychiatric and Mental Health Nurse Practitioners (FPMHNPs) as well as FPMHNP students to bring mental health services to rural and underserved populations. Additionally, LMU will partner with the facilities to develop and deliver educational workshops for their health care providers and CSON Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) FPMHNP students.

Dr. Logan McCarthy, assistant director of the CSON MSN FPMHNP concentration, co-authored the grant with Dr. Mary Anne Modrcin, vice president and dean of LMU-CSON. Dr. McCarthy is the program director/principal investigator of the project and will provide support to the partner facilities and develop and deliver the educational workshops. The grant will fund selected faculty, staff, FPMHNPs, consultants, supplies, workshops, and travel expenses.

“This grant targets three areas of great need in LMU’s service area and also provides our students with opportunities to gain important experiences as they prepare to join the mental health workforce,” McCarthy said.

LMU’s FPMHNP concentration is designed to positively impact the mental health status of individuals living in rural Appalachia by targeting their needs. The LMU CSON service area includes 27 counties designated as Mental Health-Health Profession Shortage Areas (HPSAs) and 26 counties designated as Primary Care-HPSAs. With assistance through this project, the advanced practice nursing providers and graduates of the LMU MSN FPMHNP concentration may assist in reducing existing mental health disparities by increasing access to high quality, culturally competent health care providers/services where 26 counties are currently designated as Medically Underserved Areas or Populations (MUA/P).


“In a year the World Health Organization has designated the Year of the Nurse, we are experiencing a global pandemic and many other challenges that are faced by individuals, families, and communities in our service area,” Modrcin said. “Any one of these or other stressors can impact one’s mental health and those impacts are amplified by the social and physical isolation needed to combat COVID-19. These issues may be exacerbated by inadequate access to mental health resources and this program will take steps to alleviate some of the pressures on our rural health care systems.”

The CSON continues to receive more grant funding than any other LMU school or program. Under Modrcin’s leadership the school has received over $8 million in grant funding from HRSA and other sources.


The project entitled “Behavioral Health A.C.E. Project: Expanding Access, Collaboration & Education (A.C.E.) to Rural & Underserved Areas” is supported by the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) as part of the Nurse Education, Practice, Quality and Retention (NEPQR) Grant program. LMU received one of 17 NEPQR grant awards, and it was the only one awarded in the state of Tennessee. The contents are those of author(s) and do not necessarily represent the official views of, nor an endorsement, by HRSA, HHS or the U.S. Government.

Lincoln Memorial University is a values-based learning community dedicated to providing educational experiences in the liberal arts and professional studies.  The main campus is located in Harrogate, Tennessee. For more information about the undergraduate and graduate programs available at LMU, contact the Office of Admissions at 423.869.6280 or e-mail at [email protected].


Back to previous page