About LMU

The Mountain Heritage Literary Festival
June 12-14, 2015

Contest Guidelines

The Mountain Heritage Literary Festival at Lincoln Memorial University announces its tenth annual writing competition. Prize amounts of $150 for first place, $75 for second place and $50 for third place are awarded in each category. Honorable mentions are awarded at the discretion of the judges.

$150 for first place
$75 for second place
$50 for third place

The Jesse Stuart Prize for Young Adult Fiction
Entries for this prize are limited to no more than 3,000 words and may not be entered simultaneously in the Still contest.  Jodi Lynn Anderson will judge.  Anderson is the author of several books for young people, including the critically received The Vanishing Season and the upcoming middle grade title, My Diary From the Edge of the World (November, Simon & Schuster). Her novel Tiger Lily was included in Time Magazine’s 100 Best Young Adult Books of All Time and Atlantic Wire’s Best YA for Grownups, 2012. She is formerly an editor for HarperCollins, and she holds an MFA from Bennington College.
The James Still Prize for Short Story
Entries for this prize should be no more than 4,000 words and there is no restriction on subject matter.  John McManus will judge.  McManus is the author of four books of fiction: Stop Breakin Down, Born on a Train, Bitter Milk, and his latest story collection, Fox Tooth Heart, forthcoming from Sarabande Books in October 2015. His work has appeared in Ploughshares, Tin House, McSweeney’s, American Short Fiction, The Oxford American, and Electric Literature, among other journals and anthologies. He is the recipient of the Whiting Writers’ Award, a Creative Capital Literature grant, a Fulbright Scholar grant, and the Fellowship of Southern Writers’ New Writing Award. He grew up in Blount County, Tennessee, and now lives in Virginia, where he teaches in the MFA creative writing program at Old Dominion University.
The George Scarbrough Prize for Poetry
There are no restrictions on subject matter for this prize. One entry is considered a single poem or a set of up to three poems.  Michael Chitwood will judge.  Michael Chitwood has worked on a construction crew, in a textile mill, and for a highway department; he is also the author of seven volumes of poetry and two books of essays. Having graduated from the only high school in rural Franklin County, Virginia, he earned a BA in English at Emory & Henry College and went on to work for the University of Virginia Medical Center as a science writer and editor for Helix magazine, meanwhile earning an MFA. For a number of years, he was a science writer and editor at Duke University Medical Center and Research Triangle Institute; he is now a professor at the University of North Carolina — Chapel Hill.
The Emma Bell Miles Prize for Essay
Entries for this prize should be no more than 4,000 words, and there is no restriction on subject matter.  Amy Clark will judge.  Clark’s fiction and essays have appeared or are forthcoming in the New York Times, “With Good Reason” radio, Chattahoochee Review, Appalachian Heritage, Appalachian Journal, Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, Harvard University Press blog, Tampa Tribune and others. In 2015, she was awarded the Chattahoochee Review’s Lamar York Prize in Nonfiction. In 2014, she won the Dictionary of American Regional English Prize for Essay, and in 2012 she was awarded the Jean Ritchie Fellowship in Appalachian Writing, also for nonfiction. Clark is the co-editor and author of Talking Appalachian: Voice, Identity and Community (University Press of KY, 2013) and Success in Hill Country (Napoleon Hill Foundation, 2012).  She is also the founding director of the Appalachian Writing Project, a non-profit organization which supports rural teachers in their research, writing, and teaching about writing.
General Contest Rules
Submitted entries must be unpublished. Simultaneous entries are accepted. Manuscripts should be typed in a “plain” 12 point font (i.e. Times, Arial). Photocopies are accepted. Prose must be double spaced. Poetry must be single spaced.

Submit one copy of your manuscript with one title page that includes your name, address, telephone number, email address, the title of the piece, and the name of the contest to which you are submitting. Make sure that your name does not appear anywhere besides the title page to insure blind judging.

Please enclose a check or money order for $10 per entry. Multiple entries are welcome and may be submitted in one envelope (this includes even if you’re submitting in multiple genres, which we welcome).  Please provide separate title pages for each entry. There is no need to write multiple checks or money orders for more than one entry; one payment for the total amount is encouraged (so long as the total check covers all individual submissions).

We do not acknowledge receipt of submissions. And, while we take the greatest care in handling your submissions, we assume no responsibility for lost or damaged manuscripts. Contest entry fees cannot be refunded under any circumstances.

Contest winners will be announced and recognized at the Mountain Heritage Literary Festival at LMU on Saturday, June 13, 2015. Contest prizes will be mailed to winners who are not present at the festival’s award ceremony.

Contest results will be announced on the festival’s website within the following week. Email notification will be sent to contest entrants if a working email address is included on the submitted title page. Contest results will only be announced online and by email; please do not send a SASE for results.

Deadline for postmark is Friday, May 1, 2015. Any entry that is not postmarked on or before that date will not be opened. Failure to follow any of the above guidelines could result in disqualification. Do not send the only copy of your work as all entries will be recycled.

Please enclose $10 fee per entry (unlimited entries per person) and send your submission to:

Mountain Heritage Literary Festival Writing Contest
Lincoln Memorial University
P.O. Box 2005
6965 Cumberland Gap Parkway
Harrogate, TN 37752

Send email inquiries to Denton Loving at denton.loving@LMUnet.edu


Contest Judges
Contest Judges

Lincoln Memorial University
Cumberland Gap Parkway
P.O. Box 2005
Harrogate, TN 37752

423.869.6432 or 800.325.0900, ext. 6432