About LMU

The Mountain Heritage Literary Festival
June 13-15, 2014

Writing Contest

The winners of the 2014 Mountain Heritage Literary Festival writing competitions were:

James Still Prize for Short Story – Judged by Pamela Duncan
HM - Luther Kirk of Pulaski, Virginia - “Pearly Gates”
HM - Casey Haynes of Cullowhee, North Carolina - “Honest Work”
3rd - Amy Clark of Big Stone Gap, Virginia - “The New Girl”
2nd - Amy Clark from Big Stone Gap, Virginia - “Back Roads”
1st - Gabriel Morley of Lake Charles, Louisiana - “Body Judo”

George Scarbrough Prize for Poetry – Judged by Aaron Smith
HM: KB Ballentine of Signal Mountain, Tennessee - “Tennessee Rain”
3rd: Jen Ashburn of Pittsburg, Pennsylvania - “How to Dance the Box Step”
2nd: Connie Jordan Green of Lenoir City, Tennessee – “Turning the Corner”
1st: Christopher Martin of Acworth, Georgia - “My Daughter Laughs in her sleep”

Emma Bell Miles Prize for Essay – Judged by David Joy
HM: Joanne Nelson of Hartland, Wisconsin - “Canned Peaches in Winter”
HM: W.M. Robinson of Doylestown, Pennsylvania - “Sputum”
3rd: Amy Clark of Big Stone Gap, Virginia - “Seven Rocks”
2nd: Christopher Martin of Acworth, Gerogia - “Original Sound”
1st: Gabriel Morley of Lake Charles, Louisiana – “Small Evils”

Jesse Stuart Prize for Young Adult Fiction – Judged by Marc Harshman
3rd: Shannon Cavanaugh of Bakersville, North Carolina - “The Scratch of a Feedsack Dress”
2nd: Bethany Aslinger of Baxter, Kentucky - “The Oldest Fear”
1st: Amy Clark of Big Stone Gap, Virginia - “The Woodcarver”

Lincoln Memorial University
Cumberland Gap Parkway
P.O. Box 2005
Harrogate, TN 37752

423.869.6432 or 800.325.0900, ext. 6432