About LMU

The Mountain Heritage Literary Festival
June 13-15, 2014

Writing Contest

The winners of the 2013 Mountain Heritage Literary Festival writing competitions were:

Jesse Stuart Prize for Young Adult Fiction - Judged by George Ella Lyon
3rd - Erin Fitzgerald of Louisville, Kentucky – All Fall Down (in attendance)
2nd - Chrissie Anderson Peters of Bristol, Virginia – The “Me” in Team (in attendance)
1st - Gabriel Morley of Lake Charles, Louisiana – Big Man Now

Emma Bell Miles Prize for Essay - Judged by Karen Salyer McElmurray
3rd - Chrissie Anderson Peters of Bristol, Virginia – Call it Paradise (in attendance)
2nd - Larry Thacker of Middlesboro, Kentucky – Blood Thread (in attendance)
1st - Elizabeth Glass of Louisville, Kentucky – Photographic Memory (in attendance)

George Scarbrough Award for Poetry - Judged by Maurice Manning
HM – Amanda Jo Runyan of Draffin, Ky – Behind Every Good Man (in attendance)
HM – Donna McClanahan of Irvine, Ky – Vessel  (in attendance)
3rd – Christopher Scalia of Norton, Va. – A Pair of Mountain Sounds
2nd – William Kelly Woolfitt of Cleveland, Tenn. – Boy with Beech Tree (in attendance)
1st – Thomas Rain Crowe of Cullowhee, NC.  – Here with Who-Shot-John   (in attendance)

James Still Prize for Short Story - Judged by Wayne Caldwell
HM – Wesley Browne of Richmond, Kentucky – Voice Only
3rd – Larry Thacker of Middlesboro, Kentucky – Benny and the Hill’s Angels (in attendance)
2nd – Linda Michel-Cassidy of Arroyo Seco, New Mexico -- Neighbors
1st – Elaine Fowler Palencia of Champagne, Illinois - Taps

The 2013 and 2014 Mountain Heritage Literary Festivals are sponsored in part by a grant from the East Tennessee Foundation.

Lincoln Memorial University
Cumberland Gap Parkway
P.O. Box 2005
Harrogate, TN 37752

423.869.6432 or 800.325.0900, ext. 6432