Faculty and Staff

LMU-DCOM Faculty

Ava Stanczak, DO

Ava C. Stanczak, DO, FACOP, CS
Assistant Dean of Clinical Medicine & Professor of Pediatrics
DCOM 130
6965 Cumberland Gap Parkway
Harrogate, TN 37752

Curriculum Vitae for Dr. Ava Stanczak


BA, Biology, North Texas State University
DO, Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine

Licensure and Certification

Licensure by FLEX, 8/1983                         
Board Certification, American Board of Osteopathic Pediatrics, Cert. Exp. 12/2021, 6/2011                        
Board Certification Urgent Care Medicine, 6/2012, Cert. Exp. 6/2020
State of Texas, License (active), 8/1983-present             
State of Maine, License (inactive), 6/1988-1/1995               
Commonwealth of Virginia, License (active), 5/2003-present            
State of Tennessee License (active), 10/2007-present            
Commonwealth of Kentucky License (active), 3/2008-present             
State of Hawaii License (active), 7/2010-present             
Pediatric Advanced Life Support (PALS), 5/1992-present             

Professional Affiliations

American Osteopathic Association, 1983-present    
American Medical Association, 1983- 2003       
American College of Osteopathic Pediatricians, Committee on Education, 1986- present  
American Academy of Pediatrics, thru Texas Pediatric Society, 1986-2003        
Committee on Abuse and Neglect
Committee on Children with Disabilities
Committee of Legislation
Texas Osteopathic Medical Association, 1983-2003        
Texas Medical Association, 1983-2003        
Board of Directors, Early Childhood Intervention of Collin County, 1992-2003        
Board of Directors, Additional Kare for Kids (children’s homecare agency), 1993-2000        
Quality Assurance Board, PCA/Humana Health Plans, Inc., 1995-2001        
Board of Directors, Easter Seals of Collin County, 1995-2003        
Quality Assurance Committee, Children’s Medical Center, Dallas, Texas, 1998-2001        
Member, American College of Physician Executives, 1998-present    
Council on Medical Student Education in Pediatrics, Leadership Training Committee, 1998-present    
Virginia Osteopathic Medical Association, 2003-present    
Virginia Pediatric Society, 2003-present    
Children’s Advocacy Center Task Force of the New River Valley, 2003-present    
Child Welfare Board of the New River Valley, 2003-present    
Member, Board of Directors, Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine Alumni Association (now Vice-president), 2004-present    
Medical Director, Boy Scouts of America, Blue Ridge Council, 2009-present    

Honors and Awards

Dean’s Award, Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine, 1981
Arrowsmith Award, Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine, 1983
Specialist of the Year, Northeast Community Hospital, Hurst, TX, 1988
Doman Keel Medical Recognition Award, Texas Early Childhood Intervention Council, 1995
“Distinguished Service to Abused Children” award, Collin County Child Welfare Board, 1995
“Outstanding Professional Woman” award, Harte-Hanks Newspapers, 1996
“Halo Award” People Who Make A Difference, Family Circle Magazine, 1999
Outstanding Preceptor award, University of Texas Southwestern Physician Assistant Program, 1999
Faculty of the Year Nominee, Children’s Medical Center, Dallas, Texas, 2000
Clinical Educator of the Year, Virginia College of Osteopathic Medicine, 2004
George W. Northrup Osteopathic Educator of the Year, from the National Student Osteopathic Medical Association, 2007