About LMU

About LMU

Dr. Ray E. Stowers - Vice President and Dean of the DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine

Dr. Stowers was an associate professor of family medicine and director of the Division of Rural Health at Oklahoma State University College of Osteopathic Medicine in Tulsa, Oklahoma. He was also the director of the Oklahoma Rural Health Policy and Research Center.

Dr. Stowers continues to be a leader in osteopathic medicine, as well as an advocate for rural healthcare. He graduated from Phillips University in Enid, Oklahoma, and received his D.O. degree from the University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine in Kansas City, Missouri. He completed an internship at Tulsa Regional Medical Center. He is board certified in family practice by the American Board of Osteopathic Family Physicians, and is a fellow of the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians (F.A.C.O.F.P.).

Dr. Stowers practiced as a rural physician in Medford, Oklahoma, for 25 years. His leadership positions have been extensive, including president of the Oklahoma Osteopathic Association, past member of the Board of Trustees of ACOFP and commissioner and chairman of the Oklahoma Physician Manpower Training Commission.  He currently serves on the American Osteopathic Association’s Board of Trustees and Council on Federal Health Programs, and  is a Commissioner of Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC), advising Congress on Medicare issues.

Dr. Stowers’ continuing interests are innovations in medical education, rural healthcare delivery policy and national physician manpower and training issues.